Academic staff support the academic mission in nearly every function and service of Wayne State University. Academic staff are the Academic Advisors, Academic Service Officers, Archivists, Athletic Coaches & Trainers (except Division I), Extension Program Coordinators, Financial Aid Officers, Health Physicists, Librarians, University Counselors, and University Counselors Assistants. The impact of academic staff on the outcome of students' understanding of the University, academic progress, and overall development is essential.

Established in 1986, The Academic Staff Professional Development Committee (ASPDC) is committed to providing opportunities for academic staff members to enhance their professional development through its support of both on-campus and off-campus workshops, seminars, and conferences.

The travel fund program encourages staff to present at and to attend national, regional, and local conferences.

The awards program formally recognizes the outstanding accomplishments of academic staff at WSU, and allows the university community to celebrate those achievements.

We are proud of the accomplishments of academic staff at Wayne State, and hope that you continue to improve your skills through ASPDC resources and programming.

Stephanie Hawkes, Ed.D.
Office of Multicultural Student Engagement
(313) 577-2358; gd2711@wayne.edu